IEEE International Conference on Software Analysis, Evolution and Reengineering

The 25th edition of the International Conference on Software Analysis, Evolution, and Reengineering (SANER’18) will feature an Early Research Achievements (ERA) track.

The goal of the ERA track is to provide researchers and practitioners with a forum for presenting promising ideas in early stages of research. These ideas do not require a strong empirical evaluation. The 2018 ERA track aims to provide constructive feedback to guide authors from their initial ideas and limited evaluations toward solid SANER 2019 papers with strong empirical underpinnings. The ERA track is specifically looking for fresh, innovative, provocative ideas. We aim to create an open atmosphere where discussion and feedback stands central.

The topics of interest for the ERA track are the same as the main research track and concern all the topics in the research and practice of software analysis, evolution, and reengineering.

Evaluation Criteria

Submissions will be evaluated on the basis of their originality, potential impact, technical soundness, evaluation, quality of presentation, and appropriate comparison to related work. Emphasis will be put on the originality and timeliness of the proposed contribution; a full evaluation of the proposed ideas is not required.

Submission Instructions

  • Papers must not exceed five pages (including all text, figures, references, and appendices)
  • Papers must conform to the IEEE proceedings paper format guidelines
  • Papers must be submitted electronically in PDF format via the SANER 2018 EasyChair submission site

Important note: SANER 2018 follows a full double-blind review process.​ Submissions that do not adhere to these limits or that violate the formatting guidelines will be desk-rejected without review.

Papers submitted to the ERA must not have been previously accepted for publication or submitted for review to another publication venue.

Important Dates

  • Abstract submission deadline: January 5, 2018 January 8, 2018 AoE
  • Paper submission deadline: January 12, 2018 AoE
  • Notifications: February 9, 2018
  • Camera Ready: February 22, 2018
  • Submission Page:

Committee Members

Jens Krinke (co-Chair)

University College London


Shane McIntosh (co-Chair)

McGill University


Mauricio Aniche

Delft University of Technology

the Netherlands

Olga Baysal

Carleton University


Alexandre Bergel

University of Chile


Tse-Hsun Peter Chen

Concordia University


Eleni Constantinou

University of Mons


Thomas Durieux



Marco Gerosa

Northern Arizona University


Hideaki Hata

Nara Institute of Science and Technology


Syed Islam

University of East London


Kamil Jezek

University of West Bohemia

Czech Republic

Akos Kiss

University of Szeged


Raula Gaikovina Kula

Nara Institute of Science and Technology


Tanja Mayerhofer

TU Vienna


Christian Newman

Rochester Institute of Technology


José Carlos Ribeiro

Polytechnic Institute of Leiria


Sandro Schulze

Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg


Yuan Tian

Singapore Management University


Aiko Yamashita

Oslo and Akershus University College


Yibiao Yang

Nanjing University


Vadim Zaytsev

Raincode Labs


Yuanyuan Zhang

University College London